Modified Ashworth Scale Scoring, Grading, Tone | Modified Ashworth Scale vs Tardieu

Spasticity, a prevalent occurrence in neurological disorders, can have a substantial influence on a person's quality of life. When evaluating and treating spasticity, the Modified Ashworth Scale is an essential tool.

Spasticity is the term used to describe the involuntary contraction of muscles that results in stiffness and decreased joint mobility. It frequently coexists with diseases including multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injury, and cerebral palsy.

In order to evaluate spasticity levels thoroughly, the Modified Ashworth Scale is critical. Healthcare practitioners can assess the degree of spasticity by using a numerical score that is based on resistance during passive stretching.

Modified Ashworth Scale Scoring, Grading, Tone  Modified Ashworth scale vs Tardieu

What is Modified Ashworth Scale?

The Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) is a clinical tool used to assess muscular tone, specifically spasticity. Its purpose is to evaluate the resistance encountered throughout the passive range of motion. A grade of spasticity is assigned on a scale from 0 to 4 where 0 indicates no increase in muscle tone and 4 denotes a rigid limb in flexion or extension. 

Modified Ashworth Scale Scoring

To measure spasticity and muscular tone, the Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) uses a 6-point system. Higher scores indicate spasticity or more resistance to passive movement, whereas lower values indicate normal muscle tone. The scores range from 0 to 4. The scale is characterized by increased deep reflexes of the tendon that impede muscle activity, mobility, or speech.

Modified Ashworth Scale Grading

To assess muscle spasticity in patients with lesions of the central nervous system, the Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) is utilized. There is a 6-point rating system that goes from 0 to 4 which indicates how much muscle tone has increased. Here is the scale:

0: There is no rise in muscular tone

1: A slight increase in muscular tone that occurs when an affected area is moved in flexion or extension, along with a catch and release or very little resistance at the end of the range of motion.

1+: Minimal resistance through less than half of the range of motion, followed by a slight increase in muscle tone that feels like a catch.

Modified Ashworth Scale Tone

For medical practitioners, the Modified Ashworth Scale offers a useful quantitative assessment of muscle tone. It is a modified Ashworth Scale that has undergone significant changes to improve its therapeutic applicability.

The scale uses a numerical scale to categorize muscle tone, which aids in the assessment of spasticity severity. Understanding these classifications is critical for accurate assessments and targeted interventions.

Modified Ashworth scale vs Tardieu

The key distinction between the two scales is how they quantify spasticity. The Ashworth Scale examines passive resistance to movement at a single speed, but the Tardieu Scale evaluates spasticity more thoroughly by incorporating passive muscle stretches at three different speeds. Additionally, the Tardieu Scale distinguishes between contracture and spasticity, while the Ashworth Scale is misled by it.

Modified Ashworth Scale Scoring, Grading, Tone | Modified Ashworth Scale vs Tardieu Modified Ashworth Scale Scoring, Grading, Tone | Modified Ashworth Scale vs Tardieu Reviewed by Simon Albert on December 11, 2023 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.